Volume / Sound Problems in Fedora 11

If you seem to be having trouble using the new volume control in Fedora 11, as in you cannot hear anything. In my case with headphones plugged in sound was perfect but the speaker seemed to fail. Looking at the release notes I got the answer. Use this command to increase volume:

alsamixer -c0

This should give you a screen like the one below:

Screenshot-satyajit@gandalf:-files-workspace-lessons

Now all i had to do was increase the Speaker and the PCM-2 volume to maximum. The channels might vary for you depending on your sound card. If you want to increase microphone volume use

alsamixer -c0 -Vcapture
Volume / Sound Problems in Fedora 11

18 thoughts on “Volume / Sound Problems in Fedora 11

  1. […] All I had to do was pair it with my system and POP it shows up in the volume configuration. Simply brilliant. There are still a few bugs, like it detects it as a mono system but by the release day I’m sure it will be done or one will find a fix in the due course. The volume can be centrally managed here thanks to the pulse audio system. And if you do run into trouble setting your volume refer to my post on Volume / Sound problem in Fedora 11. […]

  2. Leonidas says:

    Thanks so much!

    I was wondering how to increase the volume outside the included pulseaudio mixer.

    Fixed the same issue for me.

      1. Gaurav,

        can you post more details of your system. Is it a laptop or a desktop. Are you able to listen to the sound on the builtin speakers if it is a laptop and of course more details of your system. Please attach output of :
        lspci | grep -i audio

  3. Nazia says:

    Hey… i am having a prob with my sound in f11. the laptop speakers seem to be fine.. but when i plug in a headphone or external speakers, there is no sound. i tried out the above procedure for headphone but the volume doesnt seem to increase that way…. can u help me?

  4. Nazia says:

    Hiii.. Thanks for the help… and i am having the same prob as faced by gaurav.. i am not able to increase/decrease the volume of the headphones although it’s possible to do tat for other inputs/outputs? im having a toshiba L505-S6955 laptop….

  5. Krishna Kant Ojha says:

    Hi there,

    The post “Volume / Sound Problems in Fedora 11” has realy been useful. I was trying to fix my soundcard problem for long. Did everything, but to no avail. Then one day found this post… solved the prolonged in no time…. That was great!

    Thanks… a lot

    Krishna Kant Ojha

  6. gaurav says:

    It is a dell desktop- Dell Precision T3500,CMT. Processor- Intel Xeon CPU W3520.

    output of lspci | grep -i audio
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller

    There are no built-in speakers. When i plug in my headphones I hear a white noise when I am watching a youtube video. I have also attached some screenshots of the volume control and alsamixer -c0 output-
    http://picasaweb.google.com/gauravgoeluta/Alsamixer#

  7. Krishna Kant Ojha says:

    Hi Ranjeev,

    I have to do following to get sound on every time I boot Fedora 11:

    * Switch PCM off/ on
    * Mute and un-mute sound using the speakers’ icon on the panel

    In fact, the change I make through alsamixer is not saved. Please help . . . !!

  8. Kalpana says:

    Ranjeev,

    I’m able to play the audio but im unable to hear the sound through headphone.
    I used this command to increase my headphone volume “alsamixer -c 0”, but i’m unable to increase the headphone volume and i’m able increase/decrease the mic volumes and all. Can you please help me how i can increase the headphone volume????????????

    Regards
    Kalpana

Leave a Reply

