Getting web camera and skype to work in Fedora

I was very excited when I heard Skype featured video in Linux but alas even with the latest version of Fedora, Sulphur, my web camera did not quite work. Well my kernel detected my web camera as

Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0c45:613c Microdia PC Camera (SN9C120)

using the lsmod command but when I tried skype its said no devices found. I then checked the permissions of /dev/video0 (my webcam) and found that it did not have permissions for others to read or write. Changing the permissions skype finally recognized my device.

Just before I could rejoice over my victory, the web camera test in skype showed just a green screen. This led me to google for skype+fedora+webcam and thus I found the solution.

Make sure you have the livna repository if not just execute this command as root:

rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-9.rpm   for fedora 9
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm   for fedora 8
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-7.rpm   for fedora 7

and for all

rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna

Once you have installed the livna repository just yum gspca and hopefully you will get your web camera supported:

yum install gspca

Trying to find out what this package was all about after installing gspca I used rpm -qi gspca. This is what it read:

This RPM contains the common parts belonging to the gspca Webcam Kernel Module,which provides support for up to 260 different webcams not included in the default kernel

This did the trick and I was able to get the web camera working fine.

Reference:

http://clunixchit.blogspot.com/2007/12/fedora-8-skype-audio-and-webcam.html
Getting web camera and skype to work in Fedora

Leave a Reply

